Connect with us

Latest News

Lockdown extended in Kigali, eight districts

 391 total views,  6 views today

The Government of Rwanda has extended existing measures to contain the spread of COVID-19 including the lockdown imposed in Kigali City and eight districts.

The eight districts concerned with the decision include Burera, Gicumbi, Kamonyi, Musanze, Nyagatare, Rubavu, Rwamagana and Rutsiro.

The communiqué released by the Office of Prime Minister shows that new measures will take effect from 27th July.

” The Government of Rwanda thanks the public for continued collaboration in observing COVID-19 preventive measures. In order to consolidate the gains in decreasing the number of COVID-19 cases and related deaths, the Government has extended the current preventive measures for five more days, starting 27th July through 21st July 2021,” reads the communiqué signed by Prime Minister, Dr. Edouard Ngirente.

The 10-day lockdown (from 17th till 26th July 2021) extended today was initially imposed by the virtual cabinet meeting held on Wednesday 14th July 2021 to prevent the spread of COVID-19 pandemic which has been on steady rise.

Other measures taken during the previous cabinet meeting have been also extended where movements and visits outside home are still prohibited except for essential services such as healthcare, food shopping, banking and for personnel performing such services.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in Latest News